Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow

After the Seltos and the Sonet, the Carens is the third Kia model made in India.

From its manufacturing facility in Anantapur, Andhra Pradesh, Kia has delivered the first customer unit of the made-in-India Carens. According to dealer sources, Kia will begin test drives for the Carens on February 1st, confirming its launch sometime in February. On January 14, the company began accepting reservations for the Carens, with deliveries expected to begin in early March.

Read Also: Mahindra Raises Pricing On All Models; The Thar Becomes About Rs 1 lakh More Expensive

  • Five variants, two seating layouts for Carens
  • Engine options include 1.4-litre, 1.5-litre petrols and a 1.5-litre diesel
  • India to be the mother plant for the Kia Carens

What do We Know About Kia Carens So Far?

Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow
Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow

One of the most notable features of the Carens is its 2,780mm wheelbase, which is the longest in its class. The Hyundai Alcazar is 40mm longer than the Maruti Suzuki Ertiga and XL6 and 20mm longer than the Maruti Suzuki Ertiga and XL6. In fact, the wheelbase of the Carens is 30mm longer than that of the Toyota Innova Crysta. That translates to plenty of interior space, and we were particularly impressed by the space and comfort in the third row during our first drive of the Carens. You can learn more about it by clicking here.

Read Also: A New Chief Sales Officer has been Appointed by Kia India

It also comes with a 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment system, digital instrument cluster, ventilated front seats, Bose sound system, 64-color ambient lighting, seat-back tray tables, wireless phone charger, and more, in typical Kia fashion. The Carens is equipped with ESC, six airbags, front and rear disc brakes, ISOFIX child-seat mounts, and a tyre pressure monitoring system as standard. On higher trim levels, it gets a rear-view camera as well as front and rear parking sensors.

Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow
Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow

In India, there will be five trim levels for the Carens: Premium, Prestige, Prestige Plus, Luxury, and Luxury Plus. Here you can learn more about the features that each variant has to offer. Depending on the variant, the Carens will be available in 6- and 7-seater configurations.

Details on The Kia Carens’ Engine and Transmission

The Carens has two petrol and one diesel engine options under the hood. The first is a 1.5-litre naturally aspirated petrol engine with 115hp and 144Nm that will only be available with a 6-speed manual transmission. Then there’s the 1.4-litre turbocharged petrol engine, which produces 140 horsepower and 242 Nm and is available with either a 6-speed manual or a 7-speed DCT transmission.

Read Also: BMW i3’s First Generation to Cease Production in July

The 1.5-litre diesel engine produces 115 horsepower and 250 Nm, and Kia offers it with either a 6-speed manual or a 6-speed torque converter automatic transmission. These engine-gearbox combinations are identical to those available on Seltos.

Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow
Test Drive for Kia Carens Begins Tomorrow

Rivals and Expected Price for The Kia Carens

The Carens will essentially fill the gap between the Ertiga and XL6 from Maruti Suzuki and the Toyota Innova Crysta from Toyota. In this segment, it will face competition from the Mahindra Marazzo and other three-row SUVs. In India, the Kia Carens is expected to cost between Rs 12 lakh and Rs 19 lakh (ex-showroom).

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please close Adblocker