Karnataka Elections: BJP Declares 23 Candidates In 2nd List, Suspense Over Jagadish Shettar Continues | India News

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday released its second list of 23 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. In the second list, BJP named Nagaraja Chabbi, a Congress leader who recently joined the saffron camp, its candidate from Kalghatgi, while SC candidate Ashwini Sampangi was fielded from Kolar Gold Field (KGF). 

Jagadish Shettar, who is a six-term MLA and a former chief minister, was once again not included in the list. Shettar had met BJP president JP Nadda earlier in the day to stake his claim to contest from his Hubli-Dharwad Central constituency.

On Tuesday, the BJP declared its first list of 189 candidates for the May 10 polls.

The saffron party, which aims to retain power in the southern state by winning a majority in the 224-seat assembly, included 52 new faces in the first list.

BJP’s list of candidates for Karnataka election upsets many leaders

The ruling BJP in Karnataka is facing the heat after it announced its first list of candidates for the May 10 Assembly polls, as some ticket aspirants who missed the bus openly expressed displeasure.

With the BJP denying him the ticket from Athani, former Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi on Wednesday announced his decision to resign from the primary membership of the party.

Karnataka Minister and six-time MLA S Angara from Sullia constituency in Dakshina Kannada district also announced his retirement from politics after failing to get a ticket again.

Udupi MLA Raghupati Bhat, who was also overlooked by BJP, said he was deeply pained by the treatment meted out to him by the party.

BJP MLC R Shankar, who was an aspirant for the Ranebennur Assembly seat, also quit as legislator today after the saffron camp ignored his request.

According to party sources, while deciding tickets, the BJP seems to have adopted a policy of trying to replace some seniors and those nearing “retirement” (75 years of age), while asking leaders to withdraw from the fray if they want tickets for their children.

BJP will speak to all disgruntled leaders: Basavaraj Bommai 

Reacting to the developments, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said the BJP will speak to all those disgruntled and will take care of their concerns.

“We are talking to all of them, the party made them legislators or leaders. The party has treated them with respect and will continue to do so. Also, the party will protect their political future,” he told reporters.

Noting that such reactions are natural during elections, to a question on Savadi, he said that they share a ‘good bonding’ and that things will be resolved through discussions.

While calling Angara a ‘gentleman politician’, Bommai said he will speak to him.

(With agency inputs)

This Post is auto generated from rss feed if you got any error/complaint please contact us.

Thank You…

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please Disable Adblocker