India vs South Africa 2nd T20I: India’s captaincy will be tested Against South Africa

Accidental captain Rishabh Pant expects the India bowlers to improve in Sunday’s second T20I against South Africa.

Pant was leading India for the first time when David Miller and Rassie van der Dussen fired down 212 with ease to go up 1-0.

The southpaw failed to guide Delhi Capitals to the IPL playoffs.

Pant’s stakes have dropped post-IPL, coinciding with Hardik Pandya’s revival.

The fast bowling all-rounder returned to full shape and led Gujarat Titans to their first IPL triumph.

Pant will be under scrutiny as he masterminds a comeback amid calls for Hardik Pandya to be India’s next white-ball captain.

Pant may be a new captain, but he appeared under pressure on his debut.

He also underbowled Yuzvendra Chahal, who had just taken 27 wickets for Rajasthan Royals. The leggie bowled two overs at Kotla.

Pandya continued his IPL success following his record run with GT.

Pandya, who last played for India in the 2021 T20 World Cup in November, scored 31 not out from 12 balls.

In his only over, he gave up 18 runs. Pant must choose between Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik in the bowling department.

Read Also: Mithali Raj retires from all forms of international cricket, bringing an end to the Raj era

The new-look pace department appeared flat in the series opener.

Harshal Patel and Bhuvneshwar Kumar both leaked runs in the dying overs.

Avesh Khan, the most inexpensive, also failed to wow.

Arshdeep and Malik are striving to impress with their pace and accuracy in the nets, so one of them may make his debut on Saturday.

Another slip-up would mean Pant’s team must win three straight.

The Proteas are ‘home’ after IPL triumph.

Miller, who hit 481 runs at 68.71 in the IPL to help GT win, seemed unstoppable against spin and pace at Kotla.

Quinton de Kock didn’t convert his start, but he hit 508 runs in the IPL and will try again.

The trio will form the batting backbone, while Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje stop the Indians.

Read Also: Mumbai wins by the most runs in first-class cricket, Advancing to the Ranji Trophy semi-finals

Team India:

Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer,Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

Team South Aferica:

Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen.

Read Also: As the ball starts to talk, Ben Stokes and James Anderson make further inroads

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker