B-Election in Bhawanipur: Shreejib Biswas Tax and Mamata Banerjee

The Left Front declared on Wednesday that CPI(M) leader Srijib Biswas would be its candidate in the bypoll to the Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is running as a Trinamool Congress candidate.

The bypoll will take place on September 30th, with polls for two seats in Murshidabad district — Samserganj and Jangipur — where polling was postponed during the eight-phase assembly elections earlier this year due to the death of candidates.

“The CPI(M) candidate from Bhabanipur constituency in south Kolkata would be Srijib Biswas,” the Left Front announced in a statement.

ALSO READ: In His Farewell Speech,Kumaraswamy Appealed To Voters For One Last Chance

Mamata Banerjee
Mamata Banerjee

The by-election was forced by the resignation of TMC MLA Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, who abandoned the seat to make way for Banerjee. Banerjee was defeated by BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari in the Nandigram assembly poll earlier this year.

To keep her job as chief minister, the TMC supremo must win this byelection.

The Left Front had previously published the names of Md Modassar Hossain of the CPI(M) for Samserganj and Jane Alam Mian of the RSP for Jangipur.

On September 6, the election notification for the three seats was issued, kicking off the nominating process. The deadline for nominations is September 13th. On the 3rd of October, the votes will be counted.

ALSO CHECK OUT: Anurag Thakur Vows Severe Decisions After PM’s Security Breach

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please close Adblocker