Ajay Maken loses by a ‘narrow margin’ to media Baron Kartikeya Sharma

Congress candidate Ajay Maken lost by a “narrow margin” against BJP-backed independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma in the Rajya Sabha elections, shocking the grand old party.

“Ajay Maken lost by a very, very close margin,” Haryana Congress MLA Bharat Bhushan Batra told reporters.

Haryana held Upper House elections on June 10. Krishan Lal Panwar won with 31 votes, leaving Maken and Sharma to fight for the second seat.

Counting and recounting of ballots were delayed by allegations of cross-voting and rule infractions.

Independent candidate Balraj Kundu abstained and Congress MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi’s vote was invalidated, leaving 88 valid votes. Sharma, backed by the BJP and JJP, received 29.6 votes, while Maken received 29.

Read Also: Election Commission wants to track government and private employees who take leave and don’t vote

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar stated during a 3.50 am press conference, “We’re glad. I thank all the MLAs for electing Panwar and Sharma. Democracy wins. I hope they highlight Haryana-related issues in the House.”

Explaining counting math, he stated, “BJP had 40 MLAs, Congress 31, JJP 10, independents, and other candidates. One candidate abstained and one Congress MLA voted no.”

“88 people voted. One-third, or 29.34 votes, won. Both of our candidates won, while the Congress candidate only garnered 29 votes. Well-trained MLAs 36 people voted first-preference. Panwar needed 29.34 votes, but Sharma got 6.66 “Adding,

Khattar said Congress wanted a recount fearing defeat

“Votes were counted. Our polling agent stated Congress thought they’d won but wanted a recount when they realized they were losing. Our polling agent didn’t mind recalling “Added Khattar.

The Chief Minister stated Congress MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi voted after listening to his “heart conscience.”

“Kuldeep Bishnoi, a congressman, voted his conscience. He believes in PM Modi’s programs and worldview. He didn’t know what Congress would do with him “Adding,

Adampur MLA Bishnoi tweeted a strange remark after the Congress lost.

“I can ruin fun, Don’t leave the forest because of snakes. hello “Twittered.

INLD MLA Abhay Singh Chautala said he’ll vote for Independent Kartikeya Sharma.

Maken had previously accused BJP of “stalling vote counting” in Haryana.

“Fearing loss of face in Rajya Sabha election results, the BJP stalled vote counting in Haryana. Please see the Returning Officer’s ruling rejecting BJP objections. India’s democracy? “Twittered.

Both BJP-JJP and Congress legislators were moved to resorts to reduce poaching. While BJP-JJP MLAs stayed in Chandigarh, Congress leaders went to Delhi.

Elections for 16 Rajya Sabha seats in four states were held on June 10 amid rumors of horse-trading and cross-voting.

41 candidates were elected unopposed in 11 states last week: Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, and Telangana.

Due to too many candidates, polling was held on Friday for 16 seats in Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, and Karnataka.

Read Also: Presidential election to be held on July 18, results expected on July 21

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker